Our Supporters

Find out who is already committed to bringing Section 1 of the equality act to life

We call on the Prime Minister to tackle inequality by commencing section 1 of the Equality Act

The government has a powerful tool at its disposal: the socio-economic duty that forms the very first section of the Equality Act 2010. The duty requires strategic decision making by public bodies to:

‘have due regard to the desirability of exercising them in a way that is designed to reduce the inequalities of outcome which result from socio-economic disadvantage.’

Passed by Parliament in 2010, this duty has yet to be brought into force.

Commencing section 1 of the Equality Act will support transparency and evidence-based public policy. It will help the UK move towards ensuring an adequate standard of living for all, levelling the playing field between people from different socio-economic backgrounds.

As organisations and individuals committed to building a better society for all, we call on the Prime Minister to commence section 1 of the Equality Act.

    1. Just Fair
    2. Dr Wanda Wyporska, Executive Director, The Equality Trust
    3. Amnesty International UK
    4. Women’s Budget Group
    5. Omar Khan, Director, Runnymede Trust
    6. Andrew Copson, CEO, British Humanist Association
    7. UNISON
    8. Judith Moran, Director, Quaker Social Action
    9. Reverend Paul Nicolson, Founder, Taxpayers Against Poverty
    10. Professor Kate Pickett, University of York
    11. Professor Richard Wilkinson, University of Nottingham
    12. Dr Angela Donkin, Institute of Health Equity
    13. Professor Mike Savage, London School of Economics
    14. Jackie Longworth, Chair, Fair Play South West
    15. Tracey Lazard, CEO, Inclusion London
    16. Barry McDonald, Chair, Bromley Experts by Experience
    17. Andrew Lee, Director, People First (Self Advocacy)
    18. Joanne Munn, CEO, Greenwich Association for Disabled People
    19. Zeenat Jeewa, CEO, Asian People’s Disability Alliance
    20. Bill Phillips, Chair, Harrow Association of Disabled People
    21. David Stock, CEO, Southwark Disablement Association
    22. Salli Booth, Chair, Disabled People; 14% of Haringey (The 14%)
    23. Joyce Kallevik, Director, Wish
    24. Lucy Byrne, Chief Executive, Richmond Aid
    25. David Strong, Disability Advice Service Lambeth
    26. Odette Battarel, South East London Vision
    27. Roz Hardie, Director, Lewisham Disability Coalition
    28. Lisa Ehlers, CEO, Kingston Centre for Independent Living
    29. Linda Burnip, co-founder, Disabled People Against Cuts
    30. Caroline Collier, CEO, Inclusion Barnet
    31. Professor Paul Hunt, Human Rights Centre, University of Essex, UN Special Rapporteur on the Right to Health 2002-2008
    32. Professor Imti Choonara, University of Nottingham
    33. Professor David Gordon, University of Bristol
    34. Professor John Wright, Bradford Institute for Health Research
    35. Professor Helen Roberts, UCL Great Ormond Street Institute of Child Health
    36. Dr Philippa Bird, Bradford Institute for Health Research
    37. Professor Peter Dwyer, University of York
    38. Dr Anna Pearce, UCL Great Ormond Street Institute of Child Health
    39. Professor John Frank, Scottish Collaboration for Public Health Research and Policy, University of Edinburgh
    40. Professor David Taylor-Robinson, University of Liverpool
    41. Professor Nick Spencer, Emeritus Professor of Child Health, University of Warwick
    42. Emeritus Professor Alan Maynard, Department of Health Sciences, University of York
    43. Professor Tim Doran, Professor of Health Policy, University of York
    44. Professor Becky Tunstall, Professor Emerita of Housing, University of York
    45. Dr Alice Donald, Middlesex University
    46. Dr Elspeth Webb, Honorary Professor of Child Health, Cardiff University
    47. Professor Lorna McGregor, Human Rights Centre, University of Essex
    48. Rev Dr Richard Frazer, Convener of the Church of Scotland’s Church & Society Council
    49. Professor Sir John Hills, Richard Titmuss Professor of Social Policy, London School of Economics and Political Science
    50. Professor Nicola Lacey FBA CBE, School Professor of Law, Gender and Social Policy, London School of Economics and Political Science
    51. Anne Kildunne, University of York
    52. Professor Matt Matravers, Director, Morrell Centre for Toleration, University of York
    53. Professor Colin Tyler, Professor of Social and Political Thought, University of Hull
    54. Women’s Resource Centre
    55. Christine Jackson, Lecturer in Nursing, University of Hull
    56. Lizzie Ette, Lecturer in Nursing, University of Hull
    57. Dr Anjula Gupta, Consultant Clinical Psychologist/Clinical Tutor, University of Hull
    58. Lizzie Barmes, Professor of Labour Law at Queen May University of London, Co-director of QMUL School of Law’s Centre for Research on Law, Equality and Diversity (LEAD)
    59. Baroness Glenys Thornton, CEO, The Young Foundation 
    60. Equality and Diversity Forum (29 members, 32 associates and 14 observers)
    61. Child Poverty Action Group
    62. Race on the Agenda
    63. Nourish Scotland
    64. Michael Wayne, Professor in Screen Media Brunel University
    65. Deirdre O’Neill, Inside Film
    66. Britain Has Class
    67. Professor Thomas Scharf, Professor of Social Gerontology, Institute of Health & Society, Newcastle University
    68. Community Links
    69. Health Poverty Action
    70. Dr Rupert Suckling, Director of Public Health for Doncaster Council
    71. Surviving Economic Abuse
    72. Dr Alya Khan, Senior Lecturer in Health Ethics, London Metropolitan University
    73. Prof Colm O’Cinneide, Professor of Constitutional and Human Rights Law, UCL
    74. Centre for Labour and Social Studies (CLASS)
    75. Dr Amanda Cahill-Ripley, Lancaster University Law School
    76. Shelter
    77. Human Rights Watch
    78. Thrive Teesside
    79. ATD Fourth World UK
    80. The Magpie Project
    81. Project 17
    82. Back to 60
    83. York Human Rights City network

To show your support for this campaign please email us at or use our contact form